

GLAA64/26 Sub-Committee Election

1 May 2019

Board Paper Reference – GLAA64/26 - Sub-Committee Election

1. Purpose of the Report

1.1 To provide information to support the election of sub-committee appointments following the appointment of one new Board member in January 2019.

2. Recommendation

2.1 The Board is invited to approve the sub-committee appointments and ask the committees at their next meetings to nominate a chair to be approved by the Board by correspondence.

3. Reasons for Recommendation

3.1 The Board has two sub-committees Audit and Risk (ARC) and Remuneration (Remco). Their terms of reference provide that members server for three years but can offer themselves for re-election. The Terms of Reference provide that Chairs of the committee are approved by the Board on the recommendation of the Committee.

4. Summary of Key Points

- 4.1 For the last four years ARC has comprised
 - Bill Butler (Chair)
 - Linda Dickens
 - Paul Williams

Remco has comprised

- Simon Allbutt (Chair)
- Angela Coleshill
- Marshall Evans till 14 January 2019

Last spring, the Board agreed that the membership would continue unchanged until new Board members were appointed. Suzanne McCarthy joined the Board on 15 January 2019.

The Chair has discussed with all Board members their aspiration as regards membership of Board sub-committees and on the basis of these discussions recommends the following membership for the next three years, or until the Board member(s) are replaced:

ARC: Bill Butler, Suzanne McCarthy Paul Williams Remco: Simon Allbutt, Angela Coleshill, Linda Dickens

The Chair believes this strikes an appropriate balance between continuity and fresh thinking.

- 5. Financial Implications and Budget Provision
- 5.1 n/a
- 6. Organisational Risks
- 6.1 n/a
- 7. Policy Implications and Links to Strategic Priorities
- 7.1 n/a
- 8. Details of Consultation/EQIA
- 8.1 n/a
- 9. Background Papers and Relevant Published Documents
- 9.1 GLAA 60/15 GLAA Board Governance, Meetings & Engagement 2019 GLAA 60/15 Appendix 2: Scheme of Delegation

Report Author: Margaret Beels